Board of Directors

The main task of the Board of Directors, under the leadership of the Chairman, is to determine the company’s general policy and supervise its activities. The Board of Directors is the company’s supreme decision-making body in all matters other than those in respect of which decision-making powers are reserved to the General Meeting of Shareholders by law or the articles of association. The Board of Directors has fourteen members.

On 27 August 2013 Bekaert announced that Baron Buysse, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Bekaert, will retire in May 2014 after 14 years in the chair of the company's Board. Bert De Graeve, CEO of Bekaert since 2006, will become Chairman of the Board in succession of Baron Buysse as of May 2014.

The Board of Directors has appointed Matthew Taylor as CEO designate. He took up this position as of 1 September 2013 and became a member of the Bekaert Group Executive. Matthew Taylor will assume the position of CEO of Bekaert in May 2014. On 19 March 2014 Bekaert announced other changes in the Board as of May 2014: Ms Mei Ye has been nominated as independent Director and Sir Anthony Galsworthy will step down from the Board due to the age limit. The nominations of Mei Ye and Matthew Taylor as members of the Board of Directors will be subject to approval by the Annual General Meeting of Shareholders of 14 May 2014.

The Board's decision to initiate these leadership changes was made in consideration of a thorough succession planning process which aims at ensuring continuity of direction at the level of the Board and of the Executive Management.

  • Print